Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra – Biographies

Season Listing | Program | Biographies

Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra
Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra

The Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra is among the finest orchestras in the nation. Since its inception in 1959, the MSO exists for three purposes: to comfort, educate, entertain and exhilarate the human soul through events of cultural significance, relevance and artistic challenge; to embrace, preserve and foster our musical heritage; and to enhance the vibrancy of our community. The MSO’s full-time professional musicians perform more than 135 classics, pops, family, education, and community concerts each season in venues throughout the state, and garnered national recognition as the first American orchestra to offer live recordings on iTunes.

Yaniv Dinur
Yaniv Dinur

Yaniv Dinur is associate conductor of MSO and music director of the New Bedford Symphony in Massachusetts. Born in Jerusalem, Yaniv moved to the US in 2007 to earn his Doctorate in Orchestral Conducting. He has performed with orchestras in Israel, Europe, the US, Canada and Mexico. He has won numerous awards including the 2017 and 2016 Solti Foundation US Career Assistance Awards and 2nd Prize at the 2009 Mata International Conducting Competition in Mexico.  An accomplished pianist and passionate music educator, Yaniv has performed with the MSO in unusual venues such as a planetarium and an unfinished office building in concerts created especially for young professionals, and has also performed in underserved neighborhoods in Milwaukee.

Catherine Lan

Catherine Lan has been praised as a pianist who “has a fluent technique, sensitive musicianship and a probing intellect”. She received her Bachelor of Music from the University of British-Columbia, Master of Music from Indiana University (Bloomington), and Doctor of Musical Arts from the University of Miami. Dr. Lan not only conducts master classes in the USA, Singapore, and Thailand, but also serves on the faculty of Broward College. She is a winner of numerous competitions and has concertized at prestigious venues across the US, Canada, China, Japan, Singapore, Taiwan, Mexico, France, Thailand, United Kingdom, Croatia, and Slovenia.

Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra Roster

KEN-DAVID MASUR, Music Director Designate,

Polly and Bill Van Dyke Music Director Chair

EDO DE WAART, Music Director Laureate

YANIV DINUR, Associate Conductor

CHERYL FRAZES HILL, Chorus Director,

Margaret Hawkins Chorus Director Chair

TIMOTHY BENSON, Assistant Chorus Director


Frank Almond, Concertmaster, Charles &

Marie Caestecker Concertmaster Chair

Ilana Setapen, Associate Concertmaster

Jeanyi Kim, Associate Concertmaster

                                    Third Chair

Alexander Ayers

Michael Giacobassi

Lynn Horner

Dylana Leung

Chi Li

Yuka Kadota

Lijiia Phang

Margot Schwartz

Karen Smith


Jennifer Startt, Principal, Andrea &

Woodrow Leung Second Violin Chair

Timothy Klabunde, Assistant Principal

Glenn Asch

John Bian

Lisa Johnson Fuller

Paul Hauer

Hyewon Kim

Shengnan Li

Laurie Shawger

Mary Terranova


Robert Levine, Principal, Richard O. &

Judith A. Wagner Family

Nicole Sutterfield Assistant Principal,

  Friends of Janet F. Ruggeri Viola Chair

Samantha Rodriguez, Assistant Principal

      Third Chair

Elizabeth Breslin

Alejandro Duque

Nathan Hackett

Erin H. Pipal

Helen Reich


Susan Babini, Principal, Dorothea C.

Mayer Cello Chair

Scott Tisdel, Associate Principal Emeritus

Kathleen Collisson

Madeleine Kabat

Gregory Mathews

Peter Szczepanek

Peter J. Thomas

Adrien Zitoun


Jon McCullough-Benner, Principal,

         Donald B. Abert Bass Chair

Andrew Raciti, Associate Principal

Scott Kreger

Catherine McGinn

Rip Prétat

Laura Snyder


Principal, Walter Schroeder Harp Chair


Sonora Slocum, Principal, Margaret &

Roy Butter Flute Chair

Heather Zinninger Yarmel, Assistant Principal

Jennifer Bouton Schaub


Jennifer Bouton Schaub


Katherine Young Steele, Principal, Milwaukee Symphony League Oboe Chair

Kevin Pearl, Assistant Principal

Margaret Butler


Margaret Butler, Philip and Beatrice Blank

English Horn Chair in memoriam to

John Martin


Todd Levy, Principal, Franklyn Esenberg

Clarinet Chair

Benjamin Adler, Assistant Principal,

Donald and Ruth P. Taylor Assistant

Principal Clarinet Chair*

JJ Koh, Acting Assistant Principal**

William Helmers


Benjamin Adler*

JJ Koh, Acting**


William Helmers


Catherine Chen, Principal, Muriel C. and

John D. Silbar Family Bassoon Chair

Rudi Heinrich, Assistant Principal

Beth W. Giacobassi


Beth W. Giacobassi


Matthew Annin, Principal, Krause Family

French Horn Chair

Krystof Pipal, Associate Principal

Dietrich Hemann, Andy Nunemaker

French Horn Chair

Darcy Hamlin

Joshua Phillips


Matthew Ernst, Principal, Walter L. Robb

Family Trumpet Chair

David Cohen, Martin J. Krebs Associate

Principal Trumpet Chair

Alan Campbell, Fred Fuller Trumpet Chair


Megumi Kanda, Principal, Marjorie

Tiefenthaler Trombone Chair

Kirk Ferguson, Assistant Principal


John Thevenet, Richard M. Kimball Bass

Trombone Chair


Randall Montgomery, Principal*

Matthew Gaunt, Acting Principal**


Dean Borghesani, Principal

Christopher Riggs, Assistant Principal


Robert Klieger, Principal

Christopher Riggs


Melitta S. Pick Endowed Chair

*Leave of Absence 2018-19 Season

** Acting member of the Milwaukee

Symphony Orchestra 2018-19 Season